Competitions & Awards

Richard Valliant wins the 2024 Waksberg Award

20 September 2023
Waksberg Award

The 2024 recipient of the Waksberg Award is Richard Valliant, Research Professor Emeritus, University of Michigan and Joint Program in Survey Methodology, University of Maryland.

Professor Valliant will give the Waksberg Invited Address at the Statistics Canada Symposium in 2024 and write a paper planned for publication in the December 2024 issue of Survey Methodology. The journal Survey Methodology [] established in 2001 an annual invited paper series in honor of Joseph Waksberg to recognize his contributions to survey statistics and methodology.

Each year, a prominent survey statistician is chosen to write a paper that reviews the development and current state of an important topic in survey statistics and methodology and reflects the mixture of theory and practice that characterized Joseph Waksberg’s work. Joseph Waksberg was a giant in survey sampling for nearly seven decades, beginning at the U.S. Census Bureau in 1940 and then moving to Westat in 1973 where he served as Chairman of the Board from 1990 until his death in 2006.

The award includes an honorarium made possible by a grant from Westat. The author of the 2024 Waksberg paper was selected by a four-person committee - M. Giovanna Ranalli (Chair), Jae-Kwang Kim, Kristen Olson, and Denise Silva - appointed by Survey Methodology and the American Statistical Association.