Awards & Prizes

Awards and prizes


The International Statistical Institute (ISI) and its affiliated associations confer prizes and awards biennially during the Awards Ceremony of the World Statistics Congresses. The eligibility criteria, regulations, and details for submitting nominations are accessible in the year preceding each World Statistics Congress.

Recipient selection occurs several months in advance of the WSC. For comprehensive information about each award, kindly refer to the links provided below.

The administration of ISI awards is overseen by the ISI Awards Coordinator, Vice-President Kerrie Mengersen.


Awards & Prizes

Awards ( 3 )
Prizes ( 5 )

The International Statistical Institute invites young members of both the ISI and IBS to submit applications for the opportunity to participate as ISI Young Ambassador in the 32nd International Biometrics Conference (IBC 2024) to be held in Georgia, USA from 8 – 13 December 2024.

This call is open to all young ISI members. There will be at least one recipient from low and middle income countries and regions. The selected ISI Young Ambassadors will participate and present their work to help promote collaboration between the young statisticians of ISI and IBS. 

ISI Young Ambassadors to IBS Award winners will be invited to support campaigns and participate in the ambassadorial activities for the ISI in the following year.

Applications should be submitted by completing online Submission Form.

For further information, please contact us.

Young ambassadors

The Karl Pearson Prize was formerly named after one of the Founders of statistical science, whose many contributions include the chi-square test for goodness of fit, the principal component method of dimension reduction, and the method of moments for statistical estimation.

On the other hand, Pearson was an active eugenics proponent. While Pearson’s eugenic ideas are not surprising for his time, we reject them today, as we reject all discriminatory ideas. In coherence with ISI principles, we find it inappropriate to keep using Karl Pearson’s name in association with prizes, lectures and other awards. Therefore it was decided to rename the Prize and honor the many Founders of Statistics with this Prize.


The ISI Service Awards are presented to members who have made outstanding contributions to the ISI and the international statistical community. They are selected every two years by the ISI Executive Committee and are presented at the Awards Ceremony during the World Statistical Congress (WSC).


The ISI Jan Tinbergen Award is named after the famous Dutch econometrician and Nobel Prize winner, and are sponsored by the Dutch Stichting Internationaal Statistisch Studiefonds (International Statistical Study Fund Foundation). The aim of the Foundation is to offer assistance to low and middle income countries/regions countries in the field of statistics. 


The Mahalanobis International Award is sponsored by the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation of the Government of India. The award recognizes an individual for lifetime achievements in statistics in a low and middle income country or region. It is expected that the award will have the potential to attract, inspire and motivate statisticians across the developing world to increase the quantity and improve the quality of their contributions to the cause of promotion and development of statistics and its applications. The award is presented biennially during the ISI World Statistics Congress.

This initiative by the Government of India serves the dual purpose of honouring Professor P. C. Mahalanobis for his lifetime contributions and achievements in Statistics, and recognising and stimulating progress in Statistics in low and middle income countries/regions.

The achievements of the candidate will be considered under three main criteria and reflecting the spirit of Mahalanobis’s lifetime work:

  • Academic leadership for low and middle income countries/regions;
  • Professional and official leadership for low and middle income countries/regions and
  • Inspiration and capacity-building within low and middle income countries/regions.

Some examples of contributions are:

  • Innovative and concrete contributions to some field of application such as agriculture, economic development, education, health, industry, etc.;
  • Statistical capacity building at a national or regional level;
  • Improvements of national or regional statistical systems and/or infrastructure;
  • Enrichment of statistical methodology.

Professor P.C. Mahalanobis

P.C. Mahalanobis (1893-1972) was a highly distinguished statistician who made extensive contributions to methodology, applications, statistical development, and public policy.

He founded the Indian Statistical Institute and served as an advisor to the Government of India.


Mahalanobis award