Awards & Prizes

Awards and prizes


The International Statistical Institute (ISI) and its affiliated associations confer prizes and awards biennially during the Awards Ceremony of the World Statistics Congresses. The eligibility criteria, regulations, and details for submitting nominations are accessible in the year preceding each World Statistics Congress.

Recipient selection occurs several months in advance of the WSC. For comprehensive information about each award, kindly refer to the links provided below.

The administration of ISI awards is overseen by the ISI Awards Coordinator, Vice-President Kerrie Mengersen.


Awards & Prizes

Awards ( 3 )
Prizes ( 5 )

Awarded biennially at the ISI World Statistics Congress, the International Prize in Statistics is stewarded and managed by a foundation comprising representatives of the five major statistical organizations working cooperatively to develop this prestigious award: the American Statistical Association; Institute of Mathematical Statistics; International Biometric Society; International Statistical Institute; and Royal Statistical Society.

C.R. Rao, a professor whose work more than 75 years ago continues to exert a profound influence on science, has been awarded the 2023 International Prize in Statistics.


The competition was launched in 2018 with the aim to promote research, encourage spatial thinking and Inspire curiosity about statistical spatial analysis, geographic patterns, and geocomputing. The competition is sponsored by Esri and ISI. Prizes are awarded to first, second and third-place participants. The awards ceremony takes place during the ISI World Statistics Congress.