Awards & Prizes

Awards and prizes

The ISI and its Associations have prizes and awards that they present every two years at the Awards Ceremony of the World Statistics Congresses. The criteria, rules and announcements for nominations are available during the year before each WSC. 

Selection of recipients takes place months prior to the WSC. For detailed information on each award, please follow the links provided below. 

The ISI awards are being coordinated by the ISI Awards Coordinator, Vice-President Kerrie Mengersen.


Awards & Prizes

Awards ( 3 )
Prizes ( 5 )

The competition was launched in 2018 with the aim to promote research, encourage spatial thinking and Inspire curiosity about statistical spatial analysis, geographic patterns, and geocomputing. The competition is sponsored by Esri and ISI. Prizes are awarded to first, second and third-place participants. The awards ceremony takes place during the ISI World Statistics Congress.


Awarded biennially at the ISI World Statistics Congress, the International Prize in Statistics is stewarded and managed by a foundation comprising representatives of the five major statistical organizations working cooperatively to develop this prestigious award: the American Statistical Association; Institute of Mathematical Statistics; International Biometric Society; International Statistical Institute; and Royal Statistical Society.

C.R. Rao, a professor whose work more than 75 years ago continues to exert a profound influence on science, has been awarded the 2023 International Prize in Statistics.


The Mahalanobis International Award is sponsored by the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation of the Government of India. The award recognizes an individual for lifetime achievements in statistics in a low and middle income country or region. It is expected that the award will have the potential to attract, inspire and motivate statisticians across the developing world to increase the quantity and improve the quality of their contributions to the cause of promotion and development of statistics and its applications. The award is presented biennially during the ISI World Statistics Congress.

This initiative by the Government of India serves the dual purpose of honouring Professor P. C. Mahalanobis for his lifetime contributions and achievements in Statistics, and recognising and stimulating progress in Statistics in low and middle income countries/regions.

The achievements of the candidate will be considered under three main criteria and reflecting the spirit of Mahalanobis’s lifetime work:

  • Academic leadership for low and middle income countries/regions;
  • Professional and official leadership for low and middle income countries/regions and
  • Inspiration and capacity-building within low and middle income countries/regions.

Some examples of contributions are:

  • Innovative and concrete contributions to some field of application such as agriculture, economic development, education, health, industry, etc.;
  • Statistical capacity building at a national or regional level;
  • Improvements of national or regional statistical systems and/or infrastructure;
  • Enrichment of statistical methodology.

Professor P.C. Mahalanobis

P.C. Mahalanobis (1893-1972) was a highly distinguished statistician who made extensive contributions to methodology, applications, statistical development, and public policy.

He founded the Indian Statistical Institute and served as an advisor to the Government of India.


Mahalanobis award

The ISI Jan Tinbergen Award is named after the famous Dutch econometrician and Nobel Prize winner, and are sponsored by the Dutch Stichting Internationaal Statistisch Studiefonds (International Statistical Study Fund Foundation). The aim of the Foundation is to offer assistance to low and middle income countries/regions countries in the field of statistics. 


The ISI Service Awards are presented to members who have made outstanding contributions to the ISI and the international statistical community. They are selected every two years by the ISI Executive Committee and are presented at the Awards Ceremony during the World Statistical Congress (WSC).