Board, Council and Office


Organisation and Governance

The International Statistical Institute is led by an Executive Committee, a Council and the Director of the Permanent Office located in The Hague, The Netherlands. Together, they are responsible for the implementation and progress of the activities based on the strategic priorities of the International Statistical Institute.


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for developing in consultation with the Council the policies and programmes of the ISI; implementing the policies and programmes of the ISI; administering ISI financial matters; determining membership fees for organisational and affiliated members; taking all final decisions on application for membership.


The Council advises the Executive Committee on the policies and programmes of the International Statistical Institute. Together they participate in the long-term planning process, assist the Executive Committee with the implementation of policies and programmes, establishes and, when necessary, dissolves Committees and Special Interest Groups, and develop operating procedures for Committees and Special Interest Groups. 

Permanent Office

The Permanent Office is composed of a Director and a number of staff members. The Permanent Office executes the strategic priorities of the ISI; is responsible for managing memberships, and carrying out finance administration. It is also in charge of connecting the ISI members, the ISI Executive Committee and Council, the ISI Associations, and Committees. 

Meet the team

Executive Committee ( 6 )
Council ( 27 )
Permanent Office ( 10 )
Xuming He, President-Elect
President (2023-2025)
Xuming He
  • Chair, Department of Statistics and Data Science; Deborah Beckmann Kotzubei and Jacob Kotzubei Distinguished Professor, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Board of Trustees, National Institute of Statistical Science (2021-2023)
  • Member of Program Committee, United Nations World Data Forum (2022-2024)
  • Steering Group Member-at-Large, Section U of AAAS (2017-2021)
United States
Fabrizio Ruggeri
President-Elect (2023-2025)
Fabrizio Ruggeri
  • Senior Fellow, Italian National Research Council (CNR IMATI, Milano)
  • Former President of European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS), International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA) and International Society for Business and Industrial Statistics (ISBIS)
  • ISI Vice President (2017-2021)
  • Fellow of American Statistical Association (ASA), ISBA and Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS), ENBIS Honorary Member and Zellner Medal recipient
Oliver Chinganya
Vice President (2021-2025)
Oliver Chinganya
  • Director, Africa Centre for Statistics, UN Economic Commission for Africa
  • Chartered Statistician and Chartered Scientist of the Royal Statistical Society 
Kerrie Mengersen
Vice President (2021-2025)
Kerrie Mengersen
  • Distinguished Professor, Queensland University of Technology, 
  • Invited Member, National Committee for Mathematical Sciences, Australian Academy of Science (AAS)
    (2020 – 2023)
  • Scientific Council Committee, Centre International De Rencontres Mathematiques (CIRM), Marseille, France (2019 – Present)
Denise Britz do Nascimento Silva
Vice-President (2023-2027)
Denise Britz do Nascimento Silva
  • Retired volunteer faculty at the National School of Statistical Sciences (ENCE) of the Brazilian Institute for Geography and Statistics (IBGE) and Senior Associate Researcher at the Society for the Development of Scientific Research (SCIENCE).
  • President, International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS),
  • Editor, International Statistical Review (ISR), (2014-2022)
  • Vice President, Inter-American Statistical Institute (IASI), 
  • Council Member, Brazilian Statistical Association (ABE), (2010-2014)
Jessica Utts
Vice-President (2023-2027)
Jessica Utts
  • Professor Emerita, Department of Statistics, University of California, Irvine
  • President, American Statistical Association, 2016
  • Vice President, International Association for Statistical Education (IASE), (2011-2013)
  • Chair, ISI Working Group on the International Year of Women in Statistics and Data Science,
United States