International Prize in Statistics


Awarded biennially at the ISI World Statistics Congress, the International Prize in Statistics is stewarded and managed by a foundation comprising representatives of the five major statistical organizations working cooperatively to develop this prestigious award: the American Statistical Association; Institute of Mathematical Statistics; International Biometric Society; International Statistical Institute; and Royal Statistical Society.

C.R. Rao, a professor whose work more than 75 years ago continues to exert a profound influence on science, has been awarded the 2023 International Prize in Statistics.

Previous winners of the prize

2021: Professor emerita Nan Laird
United States
2019: Professor Bradley Efron
United States
2017: Sir David Cox
United Kingdom
Nan Laird International Prize in Statistics Lecture 2021
The 2021 International Prize in Statistics