Committee on Women in Statistics


Committee on Women in Statistics


Objectives and Expected Products

  • To promote and strengthen the representation of women statisticians in the ISI and its Associations.
  • To help in providing opportunities for women members to assume active and visible roles in the ISI and other statistical associations.
  • To collect information on women in the statistical professions in different countries and to facilitate the flow of information among women statisticians.
  • To stimulate interest in statistics among women and encourage women students in schools and colleges to study statistics.
  • To support the compilation of statistics on women, with a view to generating relevant studies concerning women’s roles in the various activities in their countries.

Committee's Website

ISI Committee on Women in Statistics (





Supporting network: country/region representatives

  • Grace Bediako, National Development Planning Commission, Ghana
  • Annette Okoth, Masinde Muliro University, Kenya
  • Adedayo Adepoju, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Eidth Umeh, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nigeria
  • Eno Akarawak, University of Lagos, Nigeria
  • Lao Kenao, Ministry of Agriculture, Togo
  • Sheila S. Mudenda, Central Statistical Office, Zambia
Asia and Oceania 
  • Gayatri Vishwakarma, Rajiv Gandhi Cancer Inst & Research Centre, India
  • Michiko Watanabe, Management Committee, Keio University, Japan
  • Tae Rim Lee, Korea National Open University, Republic of Korea
  • Allyson Seyb, Stats NZ, New Zealand
  • Saleha Naghmi Habibullah, Kinnaird College for Women, Pakistan
  • Cathy Chen, Feng Chia University, Taiwan
  • Nedret Billor, Auburn University, Turkey/USA
Europe and North America
  • Diana Stukel, Management Committee, FHI 360, Canada/USA
  • Blagica Novkovska, University for Tourism and Management in Skopje, North Macedonia
  • Marjut Pietiläinen, Statistics Finland, Finland
  • Elizabetta Carfagna, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Eva Laczka, Hungarian Central Statistical Office, Hungary
  • Maria Ivette Leal de Carvalho Gomes, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Zagorka Lozanov-Crvenkovic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia
  • Emma Rourke, ONS, UK
  • Cathy Furlong, Integrity Management Services, USA
  • Amanda Golbeck, Management Committee, University of Arkansas, USA
  • Jiayang Sun, George Mason University, USA
  • Shili Lin, Management Committee, Ohio State University, USA
  • Besa Shahini, University of Tirana, Albania
  • Arijana Amina Ramic, Assistant Head of Unit at Federal Statistical Office of Germany, Germany
  • Tetiana Kobylynska, Department of Economic Security, Public Management and Administration Polytechnic State University, Ukraine
  • Milica Maricic, University of Belgrade, Serbia
Latin America
  • Diana Kelmansky, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Teresita Evelina Terán, National University of Rosario, Argentina
  • Cristina Cuesta, National University of Rosario, Argentina
  • Mariza de Andrade, Mayo Clinic, Brazil
  • Vera Tomazella, Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil
  • Mercedes Andrade Bejarano, Universidad del Valle Cali, Colombia
  • Leticia Ramirez, CIMAT, Mexico
Middle East
  • Reem Elsybaey, CAPMAS, Egypt
  • Embarika Farouk Abouellail, CAPMAS, Egypt
  • Nehall Ahmed Farouk, Central Agency for Public Mobilization and Statistics, Egypt
  • Manal Sweidan, Department of Statistics, NSO, Jordan
  • Nadia Lkhoulf, High Commission for Planning, Morocco
  • Bouchra Bouziani, High Commission of Planning, Morocco
  • Rania Abu Ghaboush, Palestine Central Bureau of Statistics, Palestine
  • Latifa Al Shehhi, Federal Competitiveness and Statistics Authority (FCSA), United Arab Emirates


ISI PO Committee Liaison

  • Olivia van Dijck-Timbol

Members of the Committee

 Ksenija Dumicic
Ksenija Dumičić
Ada van Krimpen
Advisory Member
Ada van Krimpen
The Netherlands
Adedayo Adepoju
Adedayo Adepoju
Amanda Golbeck
Amanda Golbeck
United States
Janet van Niekerk
Member (Webmaster)
Janet van Niekerk
South Africa
Shili Lin
Representative from the Caucus on Women in Statistics
Shili Lin
United States
Leticia Ramirez-Ramirez
Leticia Ramirez-Ramirez
Eileen Capilit
Eileen Capilit