Competitions & Awards

Cochran-Hansen Prize 2023 Winners Announced

22 May 2023
Cochran-Hansen Prize

Competition for Young Survey Statisticians from Developing and Transitional Countries 

In celebration of its 25th anniversary in 1999, the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS) established the Cochran-Hansen Prize, which is awarded every two years for the best paper on survey research methods submitted by a young statistician from a developing or transition country. 

This year the prize will be awarded during a special IPS at the World Statistics Congress in Ottawa on Thursday, 20th July 2023, 8:30 AM- 9:40 AM (Canada/ Eastern Time). 

Cochran-Hansen Prize 2023 - Joint Winners 

𝗔𝗹𝗲𝗷𝗮𝗻𝗱𝗿𝗮 𝗔𝗿𝗶𝗮𝘀-𝗦𝗮𝗹𝗮𝘇𝗮𝗿



  • Alejandra Arias-Salazar
  • Paper: Small Area Estimates of Poverty Incidence in Costa Rica under a Structure Preserving Estimation (SPREE) Approach




Xiqing Dong



  • Xiqing Dong
  • Paper: Linearization and Variance Estimation of the Bonferroni Inequality Index